6 Great Beer Events This April

I’m a creature of habit. When it comes to going to events or choosing a restaurant to eat at – I tend to always choose what I know. This couldn’t be more true when it comes to my favorite London watering holes. There are one or two “old man pubs” (as my younger brother likes to call them) that I always tend to gravitate to.

While these pubs will always remain close to my heart, a goal of this blog is to experience more of what London has to offer – specifically with it’s beer scene.

To help me – and any of you – experience some of London’s finer beer events, I’ve rounded up some of the upcoming events coming up this month. Which will you be attending with me?

NORTHERN MONK TAP TAKEOVER (7 April)

PPT-5-optimised

Image Credit: People’s Park Tavern

The guys from Northern Monk Brewery in Leeds are throwing a party at People’s Park Tavern which will feature some beer talk, plus free tastings showcasing some of their more unusual beers. Five kegs will be on tap, plus you’ll have the chance to wander around the brewery.

CRAFT BEER TASTING (15 April)

SXYB4OBXO4

All Saint’s Woodford Wells are offering a selection of different beers from a variety of local breweries on the 15th of April. Buying a ticket to the event includes a branded tasting glass (that you get to take home), tasters of all available craft beer, “An Introduction to Craft Beer” class, plus just good ole fun.

LOVE BEER (17 April)

Love-beer

Following the horrible fire that destroyed Battersea Arts Centre’s Grand Hall last year, the annual beer festival that normally takes place there is no more. The venue have decided to throw their own version however, giving beer lovers the chance to try over 100 London beers from a host of local, independent brewers.

BEER & CHEESE PAIRING AT BULLFINCH BREWERY (20 April)

https---img.evbuc.com-http%3A%2F%2Fcdn.evbuc.com%2Fimages%2F19709839%2F168518319237%2F1%2Foriginal

The one thing that can absolutely beat my love for beer – is my love for cheese. My cheese obsession is well-known among my family & friends, so I can say I am absolutely thrilled with this specific event.

Bullfinch Brewery is hosting a night combining their finest beers paired with artisan cheeses, with a tasting led by guest brewer Jack Beavis from the Woolshed Brewery in Australia’s rural Riverland. Ticket price includes six beers, five cheeses and a couple of meaty surprises.

SPRING FESTIVAL 2016 (22 – 23 April)

German-Beers-1200x800-optimised

Image Credit: Bavarian Beerhouse

Why wait until October to celebrate Oktoberfest? The Bavarian Beerhouse is hosting a Spring Festival that features live Oompah music, dancing and plenty of German beer served in Stein glasses. Plus with a range of authentic German food on offer, this is definitely a beer party you don’t want to miss.

BERMONDSEY MICROBREW CRAFT BEER TASTING EXPERIENCE (Every Saturday)

berm-1-optimised

Image Credit: London Brewery Tours

This particular event isn’t just an April specialty, but coming across it (and being a newbie to the craft beer world myself) I thought it was worth adding to April’s list.

A £50 ticket allows you to visit a bunch of breweries with London Brewery Tours. This walking tour will give you a behind the scenes look at what goes on when creating the perfect craft beer, as well as (of course) giving you a taste of the best microbrewery beers on offer.

**BONUS** LONDON WHISKY WEEKENDER (1-3 April)

Whiskey-web-139-optimised

Image Credit: Oval Space 

Okay, okay. I know this has nothing to do with beer – but c’mon guys. Who can turn down a good whisky tasting? Plus it’s something my husband might actually enjoy with me.

Is there an event coming up that I missed? Or one that I should add to my calendar for a later month? I’d love to hear! Leave details in the comments or shoot me a tweet at @CheekyDrinks 

Leave a Reply

